Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

She Said Yes

Five couples share their magical day.



(page 1 of 5)

Bri Lindemulder + Luke Bohanan

Swiss Hotel, Sonoma, June 20, 2015

LOVE AT FIRST sight is a controversial concept. Often what feels like love is actually lust, but for these Marin natives it was the real deal. “The first day I met Bri I went home and couldn’t get her off my mind,” says Luke. “I remember telling my roommate at the time that she was the kind of girl you always wanted but could never have. Thankfully, I was very wrong.” The bride shared his sentiments, though it would be four years before the couple got engaged. “I’ll admit it, I wanted to marry Luke the minute we first started dating,” Bri says, though she understood the delay. “We both take marriage very seriously and knew we wanted to be on the same page with our relationship before we took it to the next step.” And their next step was quite a big one. Luke popped the question to Bri on top of Half Dome on Labor Day during the 2013 Rim Fire, a tearjerker proposal followed by a very long but uplifting eight-mile hike back down. For a wedding venue, they considered a spot in Mill Valley but were having doubts: “It just didn’t seem to fit our casual lifestyle,” Bri says. Instead they picked the Swiss Hotel in Sonoma, recommended by Bri’s dad, her boss, and one of her best friends who’d worked there for years, and it proved the ideal fit. At the party, they departed from tradition a bit: “We didn’t do a first dance and had a closing one instead,” Bri says. “We felt that a solo first dance was not our style, and we loved the idea of a group dance where all our friends and family danced along with us.” That sense of community keeps this couple living in Marin, where Bri has been styling ladies at Viva Diva for the past eight years. Luke commutes weekly to El Dorado Hills, where he works as a firefighter and paramedic, but as a married couple they both feel “it’s hard to picture us living anywhere else.”

VENUE Swiss Hotel, Sonoma, swisshotelsonoma.com

EVENT PLANNING AND DESIGN Elise Events, elise-events.com

PHOTOGRAPHY Sasha Gulish, weddingsbysashagulish.com

FLORAL Lizzie Garneau Flowers, lizziegarneauflowers.com

RENTALS La Tavola, latavolalinen.com; Pieces by Violet, piecesbyviolet.com; Classic Party Rental, classicpartyrental.com

SIGNAGE Pigment and Parchment, pigmentandparchment.com

DRESS Lea Couture, leacouture.com

GROOM’S SUIT Alfani, macys.com

BRIDESMAID DRESS Ann Ferriday, annferriday.com

MUSIC DJ Sef Diggy seth@sefdiggy.com; Biambu Garrett biambud@gmail.com

HAIR Eliza Vosburg Dougherty evosburg@live.com

MAKEUP Raina Rombeiro, rainarombeiro.com

INVITATIONS Minted, minted.com

Edit ModuleShow Tags Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Add your comment:
Edit ModuleEdit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags Edit ModuleShow Tags

Sponsored Blogs

Relax, Rejuvenate and Restore This Fall

Travel to Health and Wellness

Increased Energy + Greater Self Confidence

From Marin Weight Loss & Wellness [sponsored]

Six Considerations to Help Business Owners Retire Gracefully

Because too much of your wealth may be tied to your business.

The 3 Most Important Questions to Ask When Hiring an Interior Designer

Avoid potential embarrassing or expensive mistakes

Angels by the Bay 10th Anniversary Gala

Benefiting The Marin Center for Independent Living [sponsored]
Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags Edit ModuleShow Tags