Women and Financial Illiteracy: A Local Documentary Filmmaker Exposes the Truth in Her New Film, $avvy

Savvy film

I’ve always considered myself financially savvy. Afterall, my father was an investment counselor, and supply-side economics was a frequent topic of conversation at the family dinner table. I earned an MBA and my first jobs out of b-school were in international banking and the stock market. As a young woman working in finance in the late 1980s, I was disrupting the stereotype about women and money.

Fast forward 40 years, I’m now a documentary filmmaker and my business background proves useful when it comes to working with budgets and accounting. And yet a recent divorce taught me that my relationship with personal finance was anything but unique. Like so many married women, I relinquished financial matters to him. Once single again, I quickly learned why taking an active role in managing personal finances is so crucial for women.

finances

Being solely responsible for my financial well-being for the first time since my late 20s was extremely stressful. I didn’t know how to find a financial advisor I could trust or if I was even qualified to have one. My scarcity mindset made me reluctant to pay for financial advice. I reached out to my girlfriends for help and started asking questions: “How much money have you saved for retirement?” “What are you investing in?” “Who manages your money?” It’s probably not a surprise to you that very few of my gal pals were comfortable with this conversation. One actually recoiled when I broached the subject of savings, and another told me she thought my questions were “inappropriate.” True, I was breaking the taboo of talking about money. But what’s a woman to do?